About EASA Part 66 Aircraft Maintenance Licence (AML)

About EASA Part 66 Aircraft Maintenance Licence (AML)

May 3, 2017

EASA (European Aviation Safety Agency) established on 2002 has reached 15 years of operation. It consists of over 800 aviation experts and administrators. The headquarter of EASA lies in Cologne, a 2,000-year-old city spanning the Rhine River in western Germany and the office is located in Brussels, Belgium.

Currently, EASA holds 32 member states: 28 EU (European Union) states and 4 other countries namely Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

Its primary task is to conduct regulatory and executive tasks in the field of aviation safety. Other responsibilities include research and analysis of aviation safety, authorizing and advising foreign operators, implementing and handling safety rules, providing approval for airworthiness, manufacture and maintenance of aeronautical products.

What is EASA Part 66 License?

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is the organization that regulates all aviation activity within Europe and it delegates authority for implementation of its regulations to National Aviation Authorities.

The Part 66 course provides Aircraft Maintenance License (AML) and a licensed engineer is certified to carry out the maintenance of aircraft and return it to service.

Category A License

One who acquires Category A license will be certified to work on operational aircraft conducting minor maintenance tasks and replacements of parts during maintenance, repair and overhaul. To acquire CAT A license, a candidate must undertake 6 months approved course and involve in 1 year maintenance experience in live aircraft.

Category B License

A person who has CAT B License is qualified to exercise complex maintenance tasks with routine periodic servicing, major overhauls, re-fitting of parts and finally certifying own work. To acquire the CAT B License, a candidate must undertake 2 years of approved course and involve in 2 years of practical experience.

CAT B License is further divided into specializing categories such as mechanical and avionics. These categories are as follows:

  • B1.1 Fixed Wing (Airplanes with Turbine Engines)
  • B1.2 Fixed Wing (Airplanes with Piston Engines)
  • B1.3 Rotary Wing (Helicopters with Turbine Engines)
  • B1.4 Rotary Wing (Helicopters with Piston Engines)
  • B2 Avionic (Electronic and Electrical Systems in all aircraft) 

Category C License

A person with Category C License is certified for base maintenance jobs. To acquire the CAT C License, a candidate must hold a type rated existing Part 66 Aircraft Maintenance Licence and have been exercising Category B1/B2 privileges for 3 years or more.

About Training Organizations

There are lots of Training Organizations conducting the Aircraft Maintenance License courses. Such training organizations must be EASA Part 147 certified training organization and Part 145 certified maintenance organization.

Part-66 licences issued by the countries other than EASA Member States are not mutually recognised in European system.


You May Also Like