Airlines in Nepal still hold European Commission ban to fly Europe

Airlines in Nepal still hold European Commission ban to fly Europe


The European Union has recently updated their Air Safety list on Tuesday, May 16, 2017 which continued its unfortunate ban targeting to operations of Nepali airline companies within the European Union.

The updated air safety list was provided in the European Union website that listed all the air carriers of Nepal which means that none of the airlines can conduct direct operations to the countries within European Union. The list is given below:

List of Nepalese Airlines Ban to Fly Europe

The European Commission has positioned Nepal prohibiting all 18 Nepali air carriers from flying into the EU as the Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal (CAAN) botched to rectify safety inadequacies.

On February 16, 2017, Minister of Foreign affairs Dr. Prakash Sharan Mahat had requested European Union to release its ban on Nepali aviation during his visit to Belgium. The Foreign Minister co-ordinator Eak Raj Pathak also requested the release of ban for Nepali aviation during his official visit with Federica Mogherini, Vice President and High Representative of Foreign Affairs & Security Policy for EU on Wednesday. The European commission had restricted Nepalese Airline Companies under its airspace for the first time in December 5, 2013 after the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) listed the Nepalese airlines under its Significant Safety Concern (SSC) list.

Air carriers of Benin and Mozambique were detached from the EU Air Safety List citing “further improvements to the aviation safety situation in these countries”, while four individual airlines, one each from Nigeria, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe, were added.

You May Also Like